Aims
Membership
Publications
News
Local Geology
home
Contact us

 

Hull Geological Society

 

List of meetings and events 2018

Monday 1st January - New Year Picnic at Withernsea

Thursday 4th January 2018 - Committee Meeting

Thursday 18th January 2018 - Club Night - identifying rocks and minerals sharing your tips.

Thursday 25th January 2018 - Evening lecture - Dr. Liam Herringshaw of Hull University "Burrowing Through Time".  Click here for abstract

Thursday 8th February - Club Night - Geomorphology - rocks and landscape

Thursday 22nd February 2018 - Members' Evening; featuring -  David Hill on “Geology in the Arctic”, Mike Horne on “30 years of geoconservation at Rifle Butts SSSI”, Paul Hildreth on "Finding Fault with the BGS" Rodger Connell with a report of the Bisat Research Project, Sonja Boehmer-Christensen on Geomorphology.

Thursday 15th March - AGM and Evening lecture - Dr. Katie Strang on "Urban geology: buildings rock!". Click here for abstract 

Sunday 18th March - Flamborough Quaternary Research Group field meeting

Thursday 12th April- Club Night  - topic: erratics

Sunday 15th April - Rifle Butts Conservation Visit

Saturday 5th May - Mappleton Fossil Fossick (part of Yorkshire Geology Month 2018) booking required

Thursday 17th May - Club Night  - topic - bivalves

Saturday 19th May CANCELLED -  Rock and Fossil Roadshow at the Treasure House in Beverley

Sunday 25th May - urban geology, morning walk led by Mike Horne (part of Yorkshire Geology Month 2018) booking required

Saturday 2nd June - Rock and Fossil Roadshow at Flamborough Village Hall (part of Yorkshire Geology Month 2018) open to the public from 11am to 3pm

Thursday 7th June - informal meal to celebrate 130th anniversary of the founding of the Society booking required

Thursday 21st June - Club Night  - topic: igneous rocks

Sunday 15th July - field trip - Filey led by Rodger Connell

Thursday 26th July - Club Night - topic: geological maps

Saturday 25th August - Rock and Fossil Roadshow at Hornsea Museum, open to the public from 11am to 3pm

Saturday 29th September  -  Rock and Fossil Roadshow at the Treasure House in Beverley; open to the public from 11am to 2-30pm

Sunday 14th October - Flamborough Quaternary Research Group field meeting

Thursday 6th December - Evening Lecture - Paul Hildreth on "Women in Geology"

Thursday 17th January 2019 - Evening lecture - Dr. Michael Oates on "Exploring Morocco's Palaeontological Riches".

Thursday 21st February 2019 - Evening Lecture  - Prof Chris Clark of Sheffield University on the Quaternary record of the British Ice Sheet

Winter lecture meetings start at 7-30 p.m. and are held in the Department of Department of Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences, Cohen Building, University of Hull (unless otherwise stated). Non-members are welcome to attend but please arrive before the start of the meeting. If you arrive late the building may be locked for security reasons and you will not be able to get in. If we are in the ground floor lecture theatre or laboratory you can knock on the window and we will let you in.

There is no charge for non-members attending our meetings (unless otherwise stated), but you are welcome to make a donation to Society funds.

The Microscopy Evenings are for members only. The Meetings start at 7-50pm.

The Club Nights are open to members of the Society, University Students and interested members of the public. At the end of each meeting we will choose the topic or topics for the following meeting. Those attending are encouraged to bring some appropriate specimens, photographs, models or texts to contribute to the evening. The meetings start at 7-50pm. If you arrive late the building will be locked for security reasons and you will not be able to get in; we are using the laboratory on the first floor.

Please contact the Society if you wish to come to a field meeting so that the leaders will know how many people to expect. The Society reserves the right to exclude people who are not wearing the necessary protective clothing/equipment.

Click here for a poster you can print out

 

Hull Geological Society Website - http://www.hullgeolsoc.org.uk

For further information e-mail -

 

Copyright - Hull Geological Society 2018

Registered Educational Charity No. 229147

Copyright Hull Geological Society.