Aims
Membership
Publications
News
Local Geology
home
Contact us

 

Hull Geological Society

 

List of meetings and events 2019

Saturday 5th January  - New Year geology walk and picnic at Withernsea

Thursday 10th January - Committee Meeting

Thursday 17th January  - Evening lecture - Dr. Michael Oates on "Exploring Morocco's Palaeontological Riches". Click here for abstract

Thursday 24th January  - Club Night - topic - Sand and Microfossils

Sunday 10th February - field meeting at Bridlington led by Rodger Connell

Thursday 21st February  - Evening Lecture  - Prof Chris Clark of Sheffield University on the "Retreat of the last British-Irish Ice Sheet " Click here for abstract

Sunday 24th February Bisat Research Group Field Meeting

Thursday 28th February  - Club Night - topic - fossils

Sunday 10th March - Bisat Research Group Field Meeting

Thursday 14th  March - Annual J & A Philips lecture at Hull University sponsored by the York Lit & Phil - Mark Williams on "Mapping the Anthropocene. 6pm in the Allam Lecture Theatre

Thursday 21st March  - Evening Lecture - Prof David Bond of Hull University on "When life nearly died - new perspectives on the Permian-Triassic mass extinction" and "Ediacaran-like textured organic surfaces: microbial mats thrived after the Permian-Triassic mass extinction" with displays. Click here for abstract

Friday 22nd March - Bisat Research Group Field Meeting

Saturday 23rd March - Yorkshire Geological Society meeting at Hull University - topic - Yorkshire Geology and Landscapes and Literature - 9-30am until 5-30pm in the Allam Medical Building

Thursday 28th March  - Annual General Meeting and guest speaker Dr Lyndsey Fox of Hull University on "Illuminating Anthropogenic climate change with 150 years of ocean science"  Click here for abstract

Monday 8th April - Bisat Research Group Field Meeting

Sunday 7th April - Flamborough Quaternary Research Group field meeting

Saturday 27th April - Conservation visit to Rifle Butts SSSI

Saturday 27th April - Yorkshire Geology Day at Caphouse Colliery marking the start of Yorkshire Geology Month 2019

Thursday 9th May - Club Night - topic: geological maps Click here for more information about maps

Thursday 16th May - field meeting at Withernsea led by Brenda and Jack Almond and Janet Robson (part of Yorkshire Geology Month)

Sunday 19th May - Rocks in the Cemetery walk led by Mike Horne (part of Yorkshire Geology Month)

Saturday 1st June - field meeting at North Cave Wetlands (t.b.c.)

Thursday 6th June - Club Night - sand and microfossils. Click here for more information about microfossils

Sunday 9th June - Rock and Fossil Roadshow at Flamborough Village Hall  (part of Yorkshire Geology Month). Open to the public 11am to 3pm; admission free.

Saturday 29th June -  field meeting - Churches, Lichens and Rocks led by Janet Robson, Mark Seaward and Mike Horne; visiting Rudston, Kilham and Kirkburn.

Thursday 11th July - Club Night - topic: patterns in rocks and fossils

Wednesday 17th July - display at Driffield Show cancelled

Saturday 20th July - display at Hornsea Carnival organised by Lewis Rose, from 9am until 4pm.

Saturday 3rd August - field meeting - geological mapping at North Newbald. Click here for more information about mapping

Thursday 8th August - Club Night - topic: geological fieldwork.

Saturday 24th August - Rock and Fossil Roadshow at Hornsea. Open to the public 11am to 3pm; admission to the Roadshow is free.

Sunday 15th September - Flamborough Quaternary Research Group field meeting

Saturday 26th October - Rock and Fossil Roadshow at the Market House in Exchange Street, Driffiled. Open to the public 11am to 3pm; admission free.

Winter lecture meetings start at 7-30 p.m. and are held in the Department of Department of Geography, Environment and Earth Sciences, Cohen Building, University of Hull (unless otherwise stated). Non-members are welcome to attend but please arrive before the start of the meeting. If you arrive late the building may be locked for security reasons and you will not be able to get in. If we are in the ground floor lecture theatre or laboratory you can knock on the window and we will let you in.

There is no charge for non-members attending our meetings (unless otherwise stated), but you are welcome to make a donation to Society funds.

The Club Nights are open to members of the Society, University Students and interested members of the public. At the end of each meeting we will choose the topic or topics for the following meeting. Those attending are encouraged to bring some appropriate specimens, photographs, models or texts to contribute to the evening. The meetings usually start at 7-50pm. If you arrive late the building will be locked for security reasons and you will not be able to get in.

Please contact the Society if you wish to come to a field meeting so that the leaders will know how many people to expect. The Society reserves the right to exclude people who are not wearing the necessary protective clothing/equipment.

Click here for a poster you can print out

 

Hull Geological Society Website - http://www.hullgeolsoc.org.uk

For further information e-mail -

 

Copyright - Hull Geological Society 2018

Registered Educational Charity No. 229147

Copyright Hull Geological Society.