Aims
Membership
Publications
News
Local Geology
home
Contact us

 

Hull Geological Society

 

List of meetings and events 2021

Note - events may be cancelled or postponed

due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Please check this website before attending events.

Click here for Risk Assessments you should read and understand the risk assessment before attending our meetings.

 

Click here for News

Saturday 2nd January 2021 - New Year Picnic on the Holderness Coast -  postponed.

Friday 8th January 2021  - Virtual Club Night on Facebook  - the topic is Dinosaurs

Thursday 14th January 2021 - Zoom Lecture - Professor Patrick Boylan, School of Arts and Social Sciences, City, University of London on "New light on the Neanderthals: music, rope-making, and now an apparent genetic link to Coronavirus"   rescheduled (see below)

Friday 15th January 2021- Committee Meeting on Zoom

Saturday 16th January 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast - Cancelled

Thursday 21st January 2021 - Zoom Lecture - Professor Patrick Boylan, School of Arts and Social Sciences, City, University of London on "New light on the Neanderthals: music, rope-making, and now an apparent genetic link to Coronavirus"   rescheduled (see below)

Thursday 21st January 2021 - evening lecture by Dr Bryony Caswell postponed

Wednesday 27th January 2021- Zoom Talk - John Connor on Geomorphological Aspects of the San Andreas Fault. Click here for the abstract

Monday 1st February 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast -  Cancelled

Wednesday 3rd February - Zoom Lecture - Professor Patrick Boylan, School of Arts and Social Sciences, City, University of London on "New light on the Neanderthals: music, rope-making, and now an apparent genetic link to Coronavirus". Click here for the abstract

Thursday 4th February 2021 - Morning walk "Geology in Hull" led by Mike Horne, starts at 10-30 am and lasts about an  hour  - fully booked. 

Thursday 11th February 2021 - evening Zoom lecture meeting - Mike Horne on "the Geology beneath Hull"

Monday 15th February 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast -  Cancelled

Tuesday 16th February 2021 - Evening Zoom Talk - John Connor on Geomorphological Aspects of the San Andreas Fault Part Two. Click here for the abstract

Thursday 18th February 2021 - evening lecture by Steve Plater of Dinostar postponed

Wednesday 24th February 2021 - Zoom Seminar - Fossilisation - chaired by Mike Horne

Thursday 25th February 2021 - Virtual Club Night on Facebook  - "something geological beginning with F"

Thursday 11th March 2021 - evening Zoom lecture meeting - David Hill on "The geology of southern Sweden"

Thursday 18th March 2021 - Annual General Meeting - virtual meeting with postal ballot.

Thursday 25th March 2021 - Members' Evening on Zoom  - includes Helen Kitson on Keyingham Gravel Pit, Arthur Speed on Churches big and small, and Mike Horne on South Ferriby Foreshore.

Thursday 8th April 2021 -  Zoom lecture meeting - Mike Horne on "the Type Erratics collection" - Click here for the abstract -

Friday 16th April 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast

Friday 16th April 2021 - Virtual Club Night on Facebook  - "Sedimentary structures"

Wednesday 21st April - Zoom Seminar - John Connor and Mike Horne on "The cobble churches of Holderness"

Thursday 29th April  2021 - South Ferriby Foreshore fieldwork led by Mary Howard and Mike Horne

Wednesday 12th May 2021 -  evening Zoom lecture meeting - John Connor on "The Use of Geophysics for Marine Archaeology"  Click here for the abstract

Friday 14th May 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast

Friday 28th May 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast -  Cancelled

Friday 28th May 2021 - Virtual Club Night on Facebook  - "something geological beginning with G"

Wednesday 2nd June - evening zoom lecture - Paul Hildreth on "The Good, the Bad and the Beautiful" [Middlegate Quarry, Lincolnshire]. Click here for the abstract

Saturday 12th June 2021 - field meeting to Barmston led by Arthur Speed.

Sunday 13th June  2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast -  Cancelled

Sunday 20th June 2021 - conservation visit to Rifle Butts SSSI organised by Stuart Jones and Mike Horne

Monday 21st June 2021 - afternoon geological walk in Northern Cemetery led by Mike Horne

Monday 28th June 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast - Cancelled

Wednesday 7th July 2021 - Committee Meeting on Zoom

Monday 12th July 2021 - morning Bisat Research Group field meeting on the Holderness Coast  - suspended

Wednesday 28th July 2021 - Zoom Seminar - Reading the Landscape - chaired by Mike Horne - booking required

Sunday 8th August 2021 - New Year Picnic (rearranged) at Withernsea led by Mike Horne- booking required

Wednesday 11th August 2021-  Bisat Research Group field meeting at Withernsea - booking required

Wednesday 11th August 2021 - Zoom Members' Evening on the topic of "Why Geology (what inspired you to become a geologist)?" (members only)

Thursday 12th August - members only evening visit to Dinostar.

Thursday 19th August 2021 - Virtual Club Night on Facebook  - "something geological beginning with H"

Wednesday 25th August 2021 - Zoom talk by John Connor on "Old-fashioned Seismic in Mesopotamia"- booking required

Sunday 29th August 2021 - a morning walk in Hull General Cemetery - booking required

September 2021 - field trip to Anglesey - Postponed

September 2021 (t.b.c) - South Ferriby Foreshore fieldwork led by Mary Howard and Mike Horne - booking required

Tuesday 21st  September 2021 - field trip to Holderness Coast led by Mike Horne  - booking required

Thursday 7th October 2021 - Virtual Club Night on Facebook  - "something geological beginning with I"

October 2021 - Yorkshire Geology Month events - booking required

October 2021 (provisional) - Club Night -  the topic is "curiosities and treasures"

Thursday 28th October 2021 (provisional) -  evening lecture by Steve Plater of Dinostar

November 2021 (provisional)  - evening lecture by Dr Jonathon Dean

Thursday 24th October 2022 (provisional) -  evening lecture by Dave Roberts of Durham University.

Click here for News And Abstracts

* Note - at our Roadshows we may sell rocks, minerals and fossils in our "Lucky Dip" to raise funds for the Society. There are genuine geological specimens and are not toys; they are not suitable for young children and should not be put in the mouth. Please wash your hands after handling geological specimens and before eating food. Click here for our Risk Assessment.

Winter lecture meetings start at 7-30 p.m. and are held in the Department of Geology, Cohen Building, University of Hull (unless otherwise stated). Non-members are welcome to attend but please arrive before the start of the meeting. If you arrive late the building may be locked for security reasons and you will not be able to get in. If we are in the ground floor lecture theatre or laboratory you can knock on the window and we will let you in.

There is no charge for non-members attending our meetings (unless otherwise stated), but you are welcome to make a donation to Society funds.

The Club Nights are open to members of the Society, University Students and interested members of the public. At the end of each meeting we will choose the topic or topics for the following meeting. Those attending are encouraged to bring some appropriate specimens, photographs, models or texts to contribute to the evening. The meetings usually start at 7-30pm. If you arrive late the building will be locked for security reasons and you will not be able to get in.

Please contact the Society if you wish to come to a field meeting so that the leaders will know how many people to expect. The Society reserves the right to exclude people who are not wearing the necessary protective clothing/equipment.

If you wish to support the Society please consider sending a donation.

 

 

Hull Geological Society Website - http://www.hullgeolsoc.org.uk

For further information e-mail -

 

Copyright - Hull Geological Society 2020

Registered Educational Charity No. 229147

Copyright Hull Geological Society.